Main content

Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is responsible for setting out land use and development policies for theTown, as adopted by the Selectboard. Vermont statute lays out broad policies; these are tailored locally in each community. The Town Plan is the land use policy document for the Town and is implemented through and constructed by the Planning Commission.

Members & Terms

  • Alice Peal — March 2026
  • Emma Hanson — March 2026
  • Jonathan Ursprung, Chair — March 2026
  • Beth Cook — March (2025)
  • Becca Newhall - March 2026
  • AnnMarie Harmon, Vice-Chair — March 2027
  • Bob Cook — March 2025


The Planning Commission meets on the first and third Tuesdays of each month at 7:00 PM at the Waitsfield Town Office. Members are urged to let staff know as early as possible if they will be unable to attend a scheduled meeting so arrangements can be made to ensure a quorum.

July 16, 2024

June 18, 2024

June 4, 2024

May 21, 2024

May 7, 2024

April 16, 2024

April 2, 2024

March 19, 2024

March 5, 2024

February 20, 2024

February 6, 2024


The Planning Commission’s powers and duties are detailed in Vermont Statute 24 V.S.A. § 4325.


The Waitsfield Planning Commission transitioned from a 9-member board to a 7-member board in 2006 to coincide with the formation of a Development Review Board (DRB). The DRB has taken on the development review duties that were carried out by the 9-member Planning Commission, which will allow the Planning Commission to focus solely on its long-range planning, legislative, and other duties.